Itchy feet, that didn’t take long

Now I thought that I would feel content for a little longer than this, but having been back less than a month I can’t stop contemplating my next journey. On my initial return I was certain I wanted to go back to Italy next summer for more WWOOFing, this is certainly true in many respects, however I also have the bicycle bug!

I am currently staying with friends in Edinburgh and am being kindly housed in a spare room come bike store cupboard (do not fear it is much larger than it sounds!), perhaps it was their mere presence and the absence of my own wheels that got my feet itching and planning cogs whirring…

I have got it into my head that I want to cycle a long the River Danube, I can’t tell you where this notion came from much like I cannot tell you where the idea to cycle to Italy began. Even so it is early days and being jobless certainly gives you time for such mildly ridiculous thoughts.So the Danube, starting in Germany it goes through countries I have never visited and seems like a natural choice. To Hungary it is 1260km but of course it doesn’t stop there, the river continues until the Danube Delta in Romania, a total of 2875km. Some friends of a friend did this trip- the whole way! They were riding for charity and documented their journey with some highly amusing writings and images http://3idiots3gears2875km.blogspot.com/ good work and if there was ever a huge spur of inspiration then they are it. Crazy folks on fixies!!

I will continue to contemplate, consider and cajole others, perhaps someone would like to join me this time, any takers?

There she flows...

Leave a comment